Cough, Sniffle, Cough

I was right… I was coming down with something and felt pretty terrible yesterday but I’m already feeling quite a bit better.  Lots of rest, fresh pineapple and hot tea 🙂

With nothing but rest on the agenda yesterday I finally finished Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi. 

Overall the book was pretty good.  There were parts that brought some serious tears to my eyes.  I couldn’t believe how much she really hated herself and her appearance at times.  I don’t think anyone is immune to issues with body image from time to time  but to constantly be critiquing yourself would be so exhausting.  The book got me examining my own self perceptions and although I consider myself a fairly confident person I started to realize how often what I see isn’t what’s really there.  A blemish on my chin looks huge and disgusting to me while I’d be willing to be most people don’t even notice it.  Some days my thighs look like giant tree trunks even though I’m wearing a size 2.  It’s all sooooo stupid! 

I’m sure by now everyone has heard of Operation Beautiful, but if not you should check out the website and maybe do a little note writing of your own even if it’s just for you to see.  The goal with Operation Beautiful is to change the way we see ourselves and stop negative self-talk.  We’re all going to have a bad day here and there but it’s so important to be able to like what you see and like who you are.  “WE ARE ALL BEAUTIFUL. You are enough… just the way you are!”  

2 responses to this post.

  1. oh no! I hope you start feeling better soon!!

    The pineapple will have lots of vitamin c! Get well soon

    Yas Xx

    Reply

  2. Lovely post! I think that everyone could use Operation Beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

