Warm Up

With my December goals in mind I decided to stop being such a baby and take my run outside.  That bright blue sky and sunshine can be deceiving though… it was only 12°F out there!  I guess that’s a great way to trick yourself into running faster (faster= warmer)!  As soon as I walked through the door I was stripping off all those layers to put on some dry, warm clothes and started a pot of tea to warm me up. 

If you’re intimidated by running in low temps check out Teri’s post over at A Foodie Stays Fit for some good winter running tips 🙂

Then it was time to feed my rumbling tummy with some clean eats.

Just what I needed!  Something warm, filling and so delicious:  Cinnamon Sweet Potato Oatcakes! 

Makes 1 serving

1/3 cup oats

1 egg + 1 egg white

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 Tbsp mashed, cooked sweet potato

Dash of cinnamon and tiny dash of sea salt

Mix it all up.  Let it sit for about 5 minutes then cook in hot skillet over medium heat, flip and cook through.  Top as desired.

Today I added a sprinkle of chia seeds to the batter, cooked them in coconut oil, then topped ’em with a few slices of banana, coconut butter, cinnamon and a yummy pumpkin mixture (pumpkin puree, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, stevia and vanilla). 

Who knew eating clean could taste sooooo good?!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the shout-out girl! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I LOVE oatcakes! Perfect fuel for cold weather workouts! These look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

