Day 1

Off to a great start for my “December to Remember”!  I started this morning with a quiet yoga practice and a big glass of fresh veggie juice 🙂

This book is full of really great juice and smoothie recipes although I never seem to follow any of them exactly.  Especially with juicing; I usually just toss in whatever I have in my fridge and it always tastes great. 

Bottoms up!

Why stop at just two goals this morning?  How about a baking experiment?!

Chai-Spiced Muffins

1 1/4    cups whole wheat flour

3/4       cup date sugar or natural cane sugar *I use closer to 1/2

1            tsp baking powder

1/2       tsp baking soda

1/2       tsp salt

1/4       tsp nutmeg

1            tsp cinnamon

1/4       tsp cardamom

1            egg or 2 egg whites

1/2       cup applesauce

1/4        cup brewed chai tea, made w/ 2 teabags and cooled to room temp

1/4       cup olive oil

1            tsp vanilla

3/4      cup raisins (this sounds odd, but soak them in the chai tea as it cools before adding)

1.  Preheat oven to 375°F.  Use paper cups or oil 12 muffin cups.

2.  Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cardamom in a large bowl.

3.  Whisk egg, applesauce, tea, oil and vanilla in small bowl.  Add mixture to dry ingredients stirring until just combined.  Fold in raisins.

4.  Divide batter among muffin cups.  Bake at 375°F for 18-20 minutes or untill toothpick comes out clean.

I’ve made this recipe a lot but not since I found out about my food allergies so I had to do some modifying today.  I used half rice flour and half coconut flour (first time ever using it).

And since I’m allergic to apples I used the pulp from my carrots I juiced this morning instead of applesauce.  I also used coconut oil in place of olive oil because it’s so healthy and tastes really good and tossed in a few craisins with the raisins.

While these were baking my whole house was filled with the smell of spices and coconut!  They turned out so good- really moist and full of flavor!

Alright, better get to work and later a super intense workout 😉

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”- C.S. Lewis

4 responses to this post.

  1. How do you like the coconut flour? It sounds like something I want to try!

    Reply

  2. Whoa – I’ve never even heard of coconut flour before! Sounds delicious!

    Reply

  3. The pancakes look awesome! I’ve seen Heather from Heather Eats Almond Butter puts sweet potatoes in pancakes – I want to try it.
    It’s great that the clean eating is making a difference in how you feel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

