On a Roll

I mentioned before that I felt a little stuck in a rut and in need of change.  It all started with the hair and now it’s something new everyday!  I guess once you open that door you never know what will happen.   I love that feeling of newness and uncertainty. 🙂

“The only difference between a rut and a grave is their dimensions.”  ~Ellen Glasgow

Today’s experiment was Black Bean Brownies! 

I should have taken a pic or two of the process but these were sooooo simple and fast; they were mixed up and outta the oven in no time.  Now I just have to show a little restraint and wait for them to cool before I taste test.  I made them to take to my Nutrition & Yoga class tonight.  Just thought I could inspire a little experimentation in my students.  They better taste good then, huh!  If cooking experiments have taught me anything it would be that if chocolate is involved you can’t go wrong 😉

Black Bean Brownies

1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained

3/4 cup raw sugar

1/8 tsp salt

3 eggs

3 Tbsp coconut oil

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking powder

dash of cinnamon

1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°.  Blend everything but the chocolate chips till smooth.  Pour into lightly oiled 8×8″ pan.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips and bake about 30 minutes. 

I think the next time I make them I’ll try to make them vegan by subing flax or chia for the egg.  *If anyone trys this let me know how they turn out 🙂

Nutrition Info:  126 Calories, 5.3 g fat, 3 g fiber, 3.3 g protein, 10% iron, 12% folate 

If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.”  ~Mary Engelbreit

10 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve always wanted to try black bean brownies! They look awesome 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’ve made black bean brownies before, and they were awesome! I couldn’t believe how good they tasted!

    Reply

  3. Posted by carascravings on November 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I am very intrigued!
    I am sure that the bean taste is masked by
    the lovely chocolate flavor?
    What a great idea.

    Reply

  4. I know what you mean about needing a change! I feel like life has been a little too monotonous lately. Maybe I’ll take your lead and start with a hair cut 🙂

    Reply

  5. Those brownies look so good! Can’t believe they have black beans in them! Nutritious and delicious. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You never said how you like them! I love black beans but my husband hates them I think I might cook them and see what he says. Have a great Thanksgiving.
    Ashlee

    Reply

    • I know, sorry about that. They are sooooo good. I shared with a few friends that all loved them and couldn’t believe they were made from black beans. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

      Reply

  7. Ooh, I used to make black bean brownies and stopped for some reason. gotta change that. I love how they bulk them up and add some fiber and protein 🙂
    PS – LOVE the new hair color!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

