Road Trip!

Well, kinda…  A friend of mine needed to go to Cody, WY so I tagged along.  It’s only about an hour drive but anytime I cross state lines it always feels farther.  I got to wander around town checking out the cute shops then for lunch we went to this little Japanese restaurant.  It seems like so long since I had sushi so this was quite the treat.  My meal started off with a simple salad and an awesome ginger vinaigrette:

Then a wonderful assortment of sushi!

SO GOOD!

You’d think I would have had my fill of fish for the day but for dinner I had a big plate of veggies and made some tuna lettuce boats with spicy mustard and roasted red pepper dressing.

I’m so glad I had my little experiment with a high raw diet for those few weeks in March because it’s helped me cut way back on processed foods and add loads of fresh produce instead.  Right now I’m not focusing on eating mostly raw but eating that way seems to come more naturally and make me feel great!  I could never go all raw though.  I love baking too much 🙂  See…

I love this little cookbook.  It’s full of great muffin recipes however I never seem to follow them.  My thing to do lately is make a basic batter then divide it into 2-3 bowls and customize each one so I end up with 2 or 3 kinds of muffins.  Fun,  right?  These little guys are mostly made up of brown rice flour, buckwheat flour, molasses, shredded carrot and zucchini then some have chopped brazil nuts, cranberries, flax meal or dark chocolate chips. 

For an after dinner snack I taste-tested a cranberry brazil nut muffin with a few sliced strawberries on the side and a glass of vanilla hemp milk.  I think these are the most cake-like, moist muffins ever!  Yummy!  Too bad I made so many changes to the original recipe I’ll probably never be able to recreate them.

What’s your favorite kind of muffin?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love the idea of separating the batter and then customizing. Favorite muffin-something with pumpkin.

    Reply

  2. Wow, those muffins look great. Oatmeal chocolate chip are definitely a nice muffin I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

