Lots of Love

As I write this I am enjoying the BEST bowl of banana chocolate overnight oats ever!  I LOVE this combo!!!  This time I started with my banana fudge concoction (simply 1 ripe banana mashed w/ 1 Tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder), then I added a 1/4 cup of water, a scoop of rice protein powder, 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds then for the secret ingredient…

…chocolate rice milk!  Um, um good!  I’m not gonna lie, as I’m eating  this I keep thinking that having desert for breakfast isn’t the wisest choice (’cause that’s exactly what this tastes like) but really the only added sugar comes from the rice milk.  And we all know that cocoa is a superfood 😉

Before I sat down with my lovely oats I did a 30 minute yoga practice really focusing on my quads since the Tone and Sculpt class I taught on Monday still has them a little sore.  I sure hope my students aren’t too sore from it- sorry guys!

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Eka Pada Rajakapotasana II (One Legged King Pigeon Pose II) I spent lots of time in this pose just LOVING the way it opened up the front of my sore thighs! It’s also a great front body opener so I’ll probably need to practice this pose later after the Buns & Abs class I’m going to at the gym this morning.  Gotta LOVE yoga!

Now for the next tip of the day (probably the most important of all).

Tip #18:  Show yourself some L-O-V-E!

I was flipping through the April issue of Fitness Magazine and came across a great section on saying “thank-you” to your body.  Most of us seem to be pretty good at critiquing our bodies and can come up with plenty of complaints so I LOVE the idea of taking time to think about all the wonderful things you’ve got go’in on!  Try it out- give your body a compliment.  Show it some LOVE!

Here it goes… a LOVE note to my body:

You’re awesome!  Ignore me when I try to tell you otherwise.  Your strong thighs may not slide right into a pair of skinny jeans but they power you up mountains on hikes all summer, keep you supported as you ski down them in the winter and can hold you steady in warrior II.  I love that you get me where I need to go and see me through all sorts of great adventures! 

We have to learn to be our own best friends because we fall too easily into the trap of being our own worst enemies.  ~Roderick Thorp, Rainbow Drive

One response to this post.

  1. Great post – thanks for reading my site by the way!
    That quote really sums me up….I am most definitely – or at least my MIND is- worst enemy…:(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

