Get Social

Tip #12:  Try group workouts

I know… it’s so easy to get comfortable in your own fitness routine.  I definitely enjoy running, walking or doing yoga completely alone- just me and my thoughts; but participating in group fitness classes or training groups can provide support, accountability, and structure.  I’ve recently been going to a few group classes at my gym and LOVE it!  I love that I always want to push myself.  It’s so much easier to work hard when either the instructor or the other students are so motivating and encouraging.  I also find that working out with such a great group of women makes the time fly by much faster than my solo workouts.  I highly recommend finding a group class to take.  It’s a great way to make fitness fun!  Often gyms will let you pay for individual classes if you don’t want to become a member.  And I have to confess that I’m really on the group fitness kick and actually just taught my first Tone & Sculpt class at my gym!  I was so nervous for some reason.  Hopefully everyone got a good workout and will come back next week 🙂 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Ardha Bhekasana  (Half Frog Pose) Improves posture, stretches the entire front of the body, ankles, thighs and groins, abdomen and chest, and throat, and deep hip flexors (psoas).  This is a great end of the day pose to help prevent stiffness and help quiet a busy mind.

Leave a Reply

