Rest Up

Tip #6:  Get plenty of sleep

This one is so easy to say but not so easy to do.  I can always think of one more thing I need to get done before I go to bed every night.  The truth is that most things can wait till morning but then I just lay awake thinking about it anyway!  Getting an adequate amount of sleep each night is just as important as any item on my to do list, so I’ll try extra hard at this tip. 

A Harvard study shows that insufficient sleep can increase a person’s risk of breast cancer, colon cancer, heart disease and diabetes by reducing the amount of melatonin the body produces.  Melatonin isn’t the only hormone thrown out of whack – less sleep also disrupts the hormones responsible for appetite, leading us to reach for extra carbs and sweets which is why studies show that people who get five or fewer hours of sleep per night are 55 percent more likely to be obese than those who get eight (from the journal Sleep).

It’s pretty clear that lack of rest does more than just make you tired then next day, but what do you do if you simply can’t sleep?  Below are a few of my standbys for nights when I’m tossing and turning:  lavender pillow spray (smells wonderful and helps me drift off), camomile tea and a melatonin supplement.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Halasana (Plow Pose)  Try this pose to calm a busy mind and help you fall asleep.

One response to this post.

  1. I also use Tazo calm tea and Melanten when I can’t sleep- works like a charm! 😀 I actually wrote an article on the correlation between sleep and weight. Love your post! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

