A Fresh New Week!

Monday used to be my least favorite day of the week but now I’ve come to enjoy that feeling of a fresh start that a new week brings!  I started my day with a little festive yoga practice- I decided to leave all the lights off and just pluged in the Christmas tree for a little colorful lighting.  I’m certainly ready for next week when our days start to get longer and my mornings wont be so dark.  After yoga I made a  smoothie with banana, frozen mango, pineapple, Amazing Grass, a little rice protein powder and hemp milk with a GF pumpkin muffin topped with pumpkin butter.

Nutrition Tip:  Besides being loaded with vitamins and minerals, green like Amazing Grass are an alkaline food that helps balance acidic pH levels in the body which is good news for your bones.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward Facing Dog)  One of my favorites!  Today it felt particularly good so a stayed extra long each time I moved into this pose.  Downward Dog is great for strengthening the arms and legs as well as stretching tight calves, shoulders and hamstrings.

After I kicked my own butt at the gym this morning I hurried around town to get some work done, packages shipped off and groceries.  I arrived home famished and snacked on some carrots while I pan-grilled a huge portabella mushroom to be topped with a few scrambled egg whites and spinach with a piece of rice bread toast.  Hit-the-spot!

Since dinner was sooooo good on Friday I decided to make us the same Chicken Tortilla soup.  I had mine with a GF cornbread muffin and he had his with a cheddar and cilantro quesidilla.

 This time I added corn and extra green chilis– very tasty!

Leave a Reply

