Good Morning!

I woke up with lots of energy this morning which inspired a very active, flowing yoga practice.  There’s so much that I love about yoga (I wont list everything) but one of my favorites is that your practice changes everyday.  Even practicing the same poses feels different day-to-day because your body feels different.  Another thing I love about yoga is that the poses and the practice are all about the individual person and not finding someones else’s definition of perfection in the pose.  This was so true for me this morning!  Once I got into my practice I was doing poses that felt great even thought they stray from tradition.  I’m really excited to pass on some of this in my class tonight!

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Wild Thing

I LOVE this expressive pose.  It’s great for opening the front side of the body and increasing energy.  From extended side plank, plant your top foot behind the opposite knee, press into the palm and foot, open up and enjoy this great pose!

For breakfast I had a bowl of Mesa Sunrise cereal with sliced banana, flax meal and hemp milk.

Now I’ve got to get bundled up to get some things done in town.  The high for today is only 18°!  Brrrrr!  Did you know that although your mom was wrong… you can’t catch a cold from simply being cold but you can if you’re shivering.  Apparently the immune system is weaker when the body is shivering leaving you more susceptible to illness.

Lunch today was a mixture of green peppers, onion, mushrooms, spinach and eggs so big it hardly fit in my skillet! 

Then guess what I did… more BAKING!  I just can’t get enough 🙂  I made some Cranberry Oat Muffins which I’ve made before however this time I made modifications to suit my allergies.  One substitution I tried was using Earth Balance dairy and soy free “butter”.  I gave this stuff a little taste before adding some to the batter and it actually tastes just like butter- I’m impressed!

Then for a pre-yoga class snack I sampled a muffin along with a cup of Kombucha green tea and a bowl of raspberries. 

The muffins are great!  The perfect mix of sweet and tart!  And raspberries are one of those fruits I don’t often buy but enjoy so much.  They’re a great source of manganese, vitamin C (two essential antioxidants)  and fiber.

After yoga class tonight I made a big spinach salad with red onion, red pepper, celery, carrots, mushrooms and grilled chicken with a few rice crackers on the side.

Then I felt like something sweet to balance out all these veggies 🙂 

Coconut milk ice cream with a GF ginger cookie and a spoonful of ginger spread=  Pure heaven!

One response to this post.

  1. I love your yoga pose of the day! You are so right, yoga practice does change every day and it’s all about you…

    Interesting fact about shivering… I didn’t know that!

    Your cranberry oat muffins sound great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

