Love to Bake!

I’ve got a batch of Pumpkin Butter Baked Oatmeal in the oven right now that smells like heaven!  Cold winter nights, warm treats and the spicy aroma of cinnamon= a perfect combination!  Since they’re not done yet here’s a peek of the process:

Rewind back to this morning… I had to work up at the mountain again today so I had a simple bowl of cereal with extra flax meal, raisins and rice milk.

Nutrition Tip:  When choosing a non-dairy milk make sure it is fortified with calcium and vitamin D.  Many of us are lacking those essential nutrients in our diets so it’s important that any non-dairy substitutes still supply some of your RDI.

For a take-along snack today I brought an orange and for lunch an egg sandwich on a GF roll with honey mustard and spinach.

When I’m working I get busy and dont always or can’t always break away to eat.  Talk about hangry!  From now on I’m making it a priority to eat when I need to.  It’s so important to listen to your body’s cues and I’m pretty sure a growling belly and shaky hands translates to “feed me NOW”!

After work I had a banana on my way to the gym where I ran for 30 minutes and walked 20 with 6% incline on the treadmill then finished up with a yoga practice.  I incorporated lots of strength building poses like warrior and chair pose as well as a few balancing poses to get me ready for ski season.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Garudasana  (Eagle Pose)  This pose does both- builds strength in the legs and ankles and also improves balance.

Since my husband went to play hockey tonight I just threw together a salad with my cranberry sage dressing, a few slices of turkey along with some rice crackers and “cheese” as my dinner.  I know… kinda lame but not cooking meant time for baking 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Love your nutrition tip of the day and yoga pose of the day! Keep them up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

