Happy Thanksgiving!

I am thankful for my delicious breakfast this morning!  I made grilled bananas and pineapple with vanilla coconut yogurt.  This is the first time I’ve ever grilled my breakfast and I loved it!  I keep looking around my kitchen thinking “would that be good grilled?’  This could be the start of a brand new tradition 🙂

After breakfast I took a trip to the gym for a little cardio on the treadmill and lots of yoga after.  On Thursdays I usually have a short practice in the morning then teach a class in the evening but there’s no class tonight so I did a little extra.  I’m sure everyone will be way too full of turkey and pie tonight at 6:00 pm! 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Ardha Matsyendrasana (Half Lord of the Fishes Pose)  This pose is great for maintaining a healthy spine as well as stimulating the digestive system (something I’ll need to do in preparation for a big meal tonight 😉 ).

When I got home I was in need of a snack so I warmed up with some hot chai tea and a GF pumpkin muffin.

For lunch I made a piece of rice toast with sliced hard-boiled egg topped with rice cheese and stuck it under the broiler to melt and had another egg and carrots as a side. 

 Today was so beautiful my husband and I enjoyed the warm weather by spending a little time outside this afternoon.  It really made me think about how thankful I am to live here!  (remind me of that in a week when we’re buried under 3 feet of snow)  And as tradition goes I went on to think about all the other things in my life I have to be thankful for:  a loving husband, wonderful family, a strong and health body, my yoga practice, a cozy place to call home, good food and a life full of smiles and laughter!  Ahh… isn’t Thanksgiving great!

I was really thinking this when I dug into an amazing meal tonight:  roasted chicken (yep, no turkey), green beans with bacon and shalots, garlic roasted red potatoes and spinach salad with fresh made sage-cranberry dressing and a little vino of course. 

Nutrition Tip:  It’s widely known that cranberries protect against urinary tract infections but new studies show that the phytonutrients in these little berries has the power to inhibit the growth of certain cancer cells.

For something on the sweeter side I made my husband his very own apple crisp and for me some super dark chocolate.  I know… not the most traditional Thanksgiving dinner or dessert but who can say no to chocolate?

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos into order, confusion into clarity…. It turns problems into gifts, failures into success, the unexpected into perfect timing, and mistakes into important events. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.”  -Melodie Beattie

 
Leave a Reply

