Feels Like Monday

Since we got back last night I keep thinking all day that it’s Monday.  Anyways… I got up this morning to do some house cleaning (I kinda slacked off this weekend) and had a big bowl of Buckwheat cereal with flax meal, sliced banana, cinnamon and rice milk.

Then I was off to the gym for a 30 minute run and 30 minute walk on the treadmill followed by 20 minutes  of circuit training and of course a yoga cool down.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Ustrasana (Camel Pose)  This is such a up-lifting pose that really opens up the front side of the body.  It’s also one of my favorite poses done in the Bikram sequence.

My fridge was looking pretty bare so I made a stop at the grocery store before heading home for lunch. 

I heated up more chicken and rice soup but made it even better by adding extra mushrooms and zucchini along with a yummy salad.  FYI:  Did you know that chicken soup has actually been proven to help eliminate symptoms of the common cold?  Just another reason to enjoy this warm, winter comfort food.  I followed lunch with more comfort food:  hot tea and chocolate 🙂

Now that I’m fed I better get to work!

I needed a snack to perk me up after a few hours of office work  and fuel me for my evening yoga class so I sliced up a fresh pineapple.  This is most definitely my favorite fruit!  Pineapples are full of vitamin C and have 73% daily value of manganese which helps build healthy bones.  Also found in pineapple is the enzyme bromeliad which acts as an anti-inflammatory helping with arthritis or sore throat and is a great digestive aid when eaten with other foods.  After my snack I worked on planning my yoga class for tonight and studied  “The Key Muscles of Hatha Yoga” book.  This book is really great if you’re into anatomy and what muscles are involved in common yoga poses- very interesting stuff!

After class I made two dinners:  scrambled eggs with spinach, zucchini, mushrooms and bacon with more pineapple and toasted rice bread for me and biscuit omelet cups with eggs, zucchini, bacon and cheese for my husband.

Gotta love a good breakfast-for-dinner!

Tonight I was in the mood for some fall cooking so I whipped up a batch of pumpkin butter.

This stuff on graham crackers is amazing- I’ll have to find a GF option or bake my own.  I think fall is my favorite season for baking.  It must be all those great spices!  What are your favorite fall foods?

Well, I better get myself to bed soon… hope you all had a wonderful Monday Tuesday!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Natasha on November 24, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Random – is your banner photo of Fallen Leaf Lake (near Big Sky)?

    Reply

  2. This was taken near Granite Peak in the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness of Mystic Lake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

