Power Meal

I did a little class planning for yoga first thing this morning, then ate a big bowl of overnight oats with cinnamon, brown sugar, sliced banana, hemp milk, a little bit of sunbutter and a glass of pomegranate juice.  Oats are a great stick-with-you breakfast and I really hope this does since I plan to go for a run right after class then to a friend’s house to present all my interior design ideas. 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Virabhadrasana III (Warrior III)  This pose is a fun and powerful balancing pose which tones the abdomen and strengthens the ankles and calves.

After a great class full of hip-openers and balancing poses like Warrior III I wanted to go for a run, but mother nature didn’t cooperate- it was much cooler than I had dressed for and starting to snow.  Plan B… go to the gym.  I ran for about 30 minutes on the treadmill then walked at an incline for about 20.  My oats held me over till I was finished but I’m sure glad I packed a little lunch:  carrots, a turkey and spinach sandwich and a GF granola bar. 

After getting a little design work done in town I got home and made myself a heap of kale chips to snack on as I did some nutrition research.  These are so good!  I think I have a new addiction.  This time I added a sprinkle of cumin and paprika.

Snack #2…

Later I made some polenta with grilled italian sausage and a big salad for dinner. 

Then a warm sweet treat:  some rich dark chocolate and chocolate chai tea.

Leave a Reply

