Lots of Layers

I decided to bundle up and go for a 3.5 mile run outside this morning since I spent way too much time inside on the treadmill yesterday.  It was a gorgeous morning, but cold!  The cold weather is like a free personal trainer… the more the wind blows and the lower the temps the harder and faster I run!

The cold seems to make my IT bands tighten up even more so as soon as I got home I did 30 minutes of yoga focusing on that area as well as my hamstrings.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Supta Padangusthasana (Reclining Big Toe Pose)

Then I made myself a big omelet stuffed to the max with spinach, mushrooms, green onions and turkey along with a piece of brown rice toast and OJ.

I had a full to-do list that required lots of driving from place to place so I brought along some snacks and lunch to eat in the car:  a pear and grapes, coconut milk yogurt (this flavor is amazing!) and a Go Raw banana flax bar which I ate before taking the picture so there’s the wrapper- oops.

I munched on a few carrot sticks before leaving to teach my yoga class then heated up some leftover chili and a cornbread muffin for dinner when I got home.

Nutrition Tip:  Kidney beans are full of iron and protein which make them a great option for those on low meat diets or vegetarians.  Also, cooking beans with herbs such as garlic and thyme makes them easier to digest.

Lastly, a sweet treat and a glass of rice milk…

Leave a Reply

