Weekend Wrap-Up

So here we are, another Sunday night.  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  Here’s a little wrap-up of my weekend eats:010

Tried out a new GF cereal made with organic buckwheat- pretty good and really crunchy.  If you hate soggy cereal you’ll love this stuff!

005

Post yoga class lunch: grapes, rice cake, turkey and rice cheese. 

007

Big salad for dinner with mixed greens, mushroom, carrots, zucchini, artichoke hearts, green onion and honey mustard vinegarette then off to the brewery in town for a drink with friends.  Good thing they have wine-  beer has gluten so it’s now off-limits.  I like wine better anyway 🙂

009

You know you’re getting old when the perfect Saturday night involves curling up on the sofa with your husband, a big bowl of popcorn and a movie.  And you know it’s love when you let him pick the movie (hint: he loves John Wayne).  If that’s not love, I dont know what is!

004

More cereal this morning…  kinda boring but I needed something quick before heading out to an early meeting.

011

They were serving lunch after the meeting but since I couldn’t eat most of the foods they were serving I went home and made myself a big salad and hot bowl of carrot ginger soup.  I prefer to make things from scratch rather than buying them pre-made but when time/ convenience are an issue I always have a little stash in my pantry.  This soup is pretty hard to beat but when I do dig into pre-made options I rarely eat them as is.  For example, today’s soup I added a sprinkle of cayenne, curry, fresh cracked pepper and a Tbsp of chopped green onion.  It adds flavor and makes me feel less lazy 🙂

013

Later I had a sweet and spicy afternoon snack:  rice cake with ginger spread, lemon ginger tea and a pear.  Yum!

014

Then for dinner I tossed together a few items I had on hand: rice noodles, shrimp and a mix of carrots, snap peas and mushrooms.  I added a little olive oil, rice vinegar, ginger, curry and chili powder for flavor.

016

To satisfy my sweet tooth I reached for a few ginger cookies and my special hot milk concoction.  I heated a cup of  rice milk then added a splash of vanilla, a drizzle of honey and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Sooooo good!  The perfect ending to a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

