So Hungry

For some reason I woke up super hungry this morning!  I poured myself a big bowl of GF Mesa Sunrise cereal with sliced banana and rice milk asap. 

002

Today was another busy day of working from home and running errands but I did find time to do some baking.

006

Talk about tempting!  These chocolate oat bars smelled like heaven, but are full of foods on my allergy list.  Good thing I’ve always enjoyed baking for other people more than for myself cause these little guys are getting wrapped up and sent to some friends who I’m sure will enjoy them for me.  Instead I ate a yummy pear! 

004

Then I was off to the gym for a quick run and a strength building yoga practice.  I worked up quite the appetite and was in the mood for some warm comfort food when I got home:  shepherd’s pie.  Totally hit the spot but didn’t stay with me long so I made some green tea and had a bowl of grapes as an afternoon snack.

008

010

Nutrition Tip:  Black grapes are full of bioflavonoids like quercetin, which improve heart health and circulation

I’ve been wanting to try this GF waffle recipe I found and will be too busy the next couple of mornings to make them so tonight we had breakfast for dinner!  GF waffles, turkey sausage and chardonnay.  Ok, maybe wine isn’t exactly a typical breakfast item but a breakfast/ dinner item- certainly!

013

I couldn’t be happier with how these turned out!  I’m convinced that the secret to any good waffle is beating the egg whites till they form stiff peaks.  It takes a little extra time but so worth it!

After I digest a bit I think I’ll do a some gentle yoga then work on planning tomorrow morning’s class.  Maybe we’ll focus on balance (a topic I’m obviously interested in).  My goal in any yoga practice is to find some stillness and let all my busy thoughts fade away (not always easy) but when I practice balancing poses I don’t have a choice- as soon as my mind starts to wander I tip right over.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Ardha Chandrasana (Half Moon Pose)    Try this pose to help steady the mind and build strength in the legs and core.

“Just as your car runs more smoothly and requires less energy to go
faster and farther when the wheels are in perfect alignment,
you perform better when your thoughts, feelings, emotions, goals,
and values are in balance.”
  – Brian Tracy

Leave a Reply

