Sounds Like Rain

“Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain.”

This morning I woke up to the soft sound of rain.  It’s a dark cloudy morning and as you know I LOVE sunshine but I’m really enjoying it.  I lived in Portland, Oregon for a few years and heard that sound a little too often but here we hardly ever get rainy days (plenty of snowy days though) so it’s a refreshing change.  I’m not sure how much dancing I’ll get out there and do but definitely some walking 😉

This morning I had a couple eggs scrambled with smoked salmon, chives and artichoke heart with two slices of GF brown rice bread.  I’m still getting used to GF baked goods.  They aren’t dry yet most are kind of crumbly and a little chewy. 

002

So much for a stroll in the rain…

005

it quickly turned to snow and hasn’t stopped.  I decided to head to the gym for a run on the treadmill followed by some strength training then rounded out with a little yoga. 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  I.T. Band stretch-  While standing, cross the right leg over the left leg, inhale arms overhead then fold forward as you exhale reaching for your toes.  Keep the legs straight and hold the pose for several breaths before inhaling up and repeating with left leg over the right.

This isn’t a traditional yoga pose but I love it because it’s the best way I’ve found to loosen up my ITB when it gets sore.  Without this stretch I don’t think I could have run my half marathon this summer- it saved me!  This is a great stretch for anyone but especially runners who often battle with tightness along the IT Band.  I make sure to do this stretch before and after every run which has really helped prevent stiffness and pain.

After getting a little work done at home I had lunch:  rice cakes, grapes, rice cheese and a few slices of turkey along with a bottle of Ayala’s herbal water.  I love plain, simple water and drink tons of it throughout the day but occasionally I like to try something new.  This flavor was lemongrass mint vanilla.  I thought the taste was refreshing but very subtle.  The bottle states that lemongrass is “calming and relaxing” as well as helpful in “maintaining  normal respiratory health”. 

008

I was really excited about yoga tonight because instead of teaching my usual class we had our first “Yoga Tour” class!  I thought it would be fun to get together at a different yoga class in our area once a month to encourage yoga students to try out new classes and styles of yoga.  Tonight’s class was a Sivananda class- very relaxing!  It’s so fun to be the student now and then. 

After a slow, snowy drive home I heated up some carrot ginger soup and made a salad with mixed greens, green onion, mushrooms and carrots.  Hot soup was just what I needed on a cold night! 

014

Leave a Reply

