Go, Go, Go

Today is going to be a busy day full of running around and checking things off my ever-expanding to-do list.  Does anyone else suffer from the “sure I can fit in one more thing” syndrome?  Good thing I enjoy staying busy.  I had a quick breakfast today:  a bowl of Mesa Sunrise GF cereal, rice milk and banana followed by a cup of Oolong Chocolate Mint tea.  No matter how busy I feel, breakfast is always a must!  Can’t miss the most important meal of the day 🙂

004 005

This tea is so good!  It reminds me of mint hot cocoa.  I really enjoy a cup of hot tea in the morning but it’s actually not the best idea to drink tea with or right after breakfast.  The tannins in tea can prevent proper absorbtion of essential nutrients like iron.  I’m not sure what is a good length of time to wait after eating- I’ll do a little research.

I ate my lunch on the go today.  I had brought some grapes, coconut milk yogurt and a GF granola bar with me to eat in the car.  Yeah, eating something that requires a spoon was not the best choice but it sure tasted good.

 009

I was in desperate need of a good snack when I finally got home so I made a little plate of carrots, artichoke hearts, rice cheese, rice cake and turkey.  Besides the extra time I spend at the grocery store reading ingredients lists, eliminating the foods I’m allergic to has been easier than I thought and the substitutes are often just as good.  If anyone has tips or recipes for gluten, dairy, soy, peanut, almond, walnut, apple free foods keep me posted!

012

Dinner tonight was shepherd’s pie loaded with carrots, onion and mushrooms topped with chives and paprika mashed potatoes.  So Good!

018

019

Now time to curl up with a good book and just relax.

Leave a Reply

