Changes

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.”

– Maria Robinson

For some reason the idea of change has me really excited.  I have all of these dietary changes I have to make which could be a bummer but all I can think of is my health and how much better I will feel!  I love that each day really is a fresh start full of possibilities!  Today I thought I’d get a great start to my day with a steaming plate of scrambled eggs with artichoke hearts, smoked salmon and a GF english muffin. 

Nutrition Tip:  Salmon is a really good source of omega-3’s which are helpful this time of year if you battle with dry skin.  Omega-3’s also play a big roll in circulation and heart health, so much so that regular consumption of these fatty acids can reduce heart attack risk by one thrid.

002

 Yoga Pose of the Day:  Adho Mukha Vrksasana (Handstand)

For me the biggest part of accepting change is getting over fear and shifting my perspective so I warmed up with some sun salutations this morning followed by Handstand to literally get a different view.

 

Then it was off to work with my Kombucha green tea and a banana for later.

003

I was really excited the other day when I found some coconut milk yogurt which is both soy and dairy free.  I tried it out today for lunch with some pumpkin puree and cinnamon.  It was so good!  Not as creamy as other yogurt but great flavor.  I also had a pear and another GF pumpkin muffin.

001

I needed a little something before my yoga class so I snacked on a few rice cakes and rice cheese. 

006

After a class full of core strengthening and backbends I was hungry!  I had some of my all time favorite soup which I’m happy to say is free of anything on my allergy list 🙂  I ate a handfull of baby carrots as it was heating up and had some veggie chips along with it.  I of course had to spice it up a litte with some cayanne, black pepper and oregano.  De-lish!

005

Leave a Reply

