Fresh Start

I took some time this morning going through my fridge and pantry to get rid of anything I can no longer eat and my husband doesn’t like.  I really hate wasting food; luckily my lactose intolerant friend and her roommate will said they’d happily take any of my off-limit snacks.

004

For breakfast I tried out my new gluten-free cereal with sliced bananas and rice milk.  I really liked the cereal although the rice milk was pretty close to adding water to my cereal.  I’ll get used to it. 

002

I was out the door early to hit the gym before my morning yoga class.  Worked up a sweat on the treadmill and tread-climber then freshened up and headed across the street for yoga.  You know someone loves yoga when they get up and out of bed for a morning yoga class on Saturday!  I love my students!  Class today focused a lot on building core strength and upper body strength. 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Plank Pose      

We did a lot of this pose as well as flowing from plank to downward facing dog.  I was in need of a little fuel after all that- good thing I had packed up some grapes to snack on afterwards.

003

After running a few errands around town I went home for lunch.  It may not look all that tasty but rolled up in the turkey is spinach, rice cheese, sliced mushrooms and a drizzle of honey mustard dressing along with carrots and GF pumpkin muffin.

005

Tonight for dinner I made a pasta dish with brown rice pasta topped with a spinach “pesto”, chickpeas and mushrooms served on a bed of fresh spinach.  I honestly couldn’t tell the difference in the pasta and the sauce had such great flavor I don’t think I would have cared either way.   I typically try to eat plenty of greens especially spinach which may be more important now than ever; since I’ll be eliminating dairy and soy I risk an inadequate level of calcium.  Good thing spinach is a great source.  It is also high in cancer fighting carotenoids, fiber and folic acid.  I love that its flavor is so versitile- it tastes great with almost anything.

009

For a sweet late night snack I had a glass of orange juice and some dried mango and apricots.  Did you know that some fruits are dried in iron pans which adds iron to the fruit? 

001

Hope you had a wonderful Saturday!

Leave a Reply

