Some Good Bad News

I realize that my title doesn’t make much sense till you hear the whole story…  Basically I’ve been having digestive issues and lots of abdominal pain for the past few years with no helpful diagnosis.  One doctor even told me that I need to increase my excercise and improve my diet (that was of course without asking the details of either one).  If you’ve read any of my previous posts you’d probably agree that I don’t do half bad in those areas.  Anyways… I recently started seeing a natropathic doctor and for the first time had someone really take the time to listen to my symptoms and take lifestyle factors into account as well which lead to a food allergy test.  So the good/ bad news is that I got the results back today and I have quite the list of food sensitivities.  This is great if avoiding these foods with help me feel better, but it wont be easy.  I’m sorry to bore you with all this personal info but otherwise you may be a little confused by my sudden change in food choices. 

Starting today I must avoid all:  dairy, soy, gluten, apples, bakers yeast, walnuts, almonds and peanuts!

Meal planning is about to become quite the challenge!  I actually think I did pretty good for my first  “everything-free” meal.  I took all the toppings off my pizza from yesterday (can’t have the wheat crust) and turned it into a delicious omelet with some baby carrots.

007

008009

Not a bad idea, huh?

Lunch was followed by a trip to the gym for 30 minute run and 30 minute walk at 6% incline on the treadmill and 20 minutes of strength training with of course a little yoga cool down.  Then I was off to the grocery store where I felt a little lost.  What I thought was going to be a quick trip turned into a drawn out meticulous examination of ingredient lists.  On a more positive note- I was pretty excited to find some gluten-free baking mix.  So excited in fact that I busted out the mixing bowls and measuring spoon right away.  Gluten-free baking experiment #1:  Pumpkin Spice Muffins. 

014

They appear to be edible…

015

Certainly edible 🙂  I had to taste test right out of the oven with a mug of chamomile tea.  I almost went for a glass of my new rice milk but thought I’d pace myself with all this newness.  The muffins actually taste quite good but the texture is a little odd.  Now that my belly is full of gluten-free goodness I think I’ll curl up with one of my yoga books and prep for tomorrow’s class.

Leave a Reply

