Green Goodness

I’ve been really good about eating “clean” this month which includes lots of green :-)  Today I made the best Green Monster with something new…

Zucchini!  Into the blender went 1 frozen banana, 1 juicy date, cinnamon, vanilla, 1/3 of a zucchini, a big handful of spinach, flax meal and coconut milk.  The result:  DELISH!

I’m thinking about doing just a week of raw food starting Wednesday so there will be more of these for sure.  Last spring I did a whole month of only raw food.  It got me eating so much more produce as well as healthy fats from avocado and nuts but I felt that my body needs more protein than I was able to get from just raw food so… to get back in the habit loading up on veggies I’m gonna do a week at a time. 

Before I temporarily ban baked goods I got busy in the kitchen with a little vegan cupcake experiment.

I’m calling these Vegan Vanilla Poppy Seed Cupcakes and once they cool I’ll top ‘em with yet another invention… Vegan Maple Chestnut Frosting!

Yum!!!!

Now it’s time to unwind with a little yoga and  Michael Franti tunes :-) 

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Viparita Karani (Legs Up the Wall)

ViparitaKarani_248

I love doing this pose to calm down after a long day, especially if I’ve been on my feet a lot.  If you suffer from backaches, insomnia or anxiety this is a good pose to try.

“Yoga is invigoration in relaxation. Freedom in routine. Confidence through self control. Energy within and energy without.” ~Ymber Delecto

One response to this post.

  1. I saw how you are going raw for a week! That is so awesome good for you (: I just made a blog recently and it has raw organic and vegan recipes that you should try!
    Check it out and follow if you’d like (:

    http://www.pureglowsixteen.blogspot.com

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

