Happy New Year!

Wow- time flys!  How is it possible that an entire year can flash by in the blink of an eye?  I guess that’s what happens when you’re having fun, right :-)

I’ve been thinking a lot about setting some resolutions for the new year and one that I’m dead set on achieving is to run two half-marathons this year.  It’s something I wanted to do last year, but I always let something else take priority over running.  Not this year!  I’m gonna do it :-) 

A few other goals are to try new things and keep experimenting in the kitchen.  So far I’m doing good with those goals like yesterday when the husband took me out for a little hockey lesson.

I’ve only been ice skating about five times in my entire life so it was more me just skating around holding a hockey stick, but I had so much fun!  What a great way to get outside even on chilly days (it was only about 15°F).

Then to warm up I started on a cooking experiment:  African Cashew Stew

I based this recipe off of one for African Peanut Stew.  It called for lentils but I was all out so I substituted yellow split peas and cashew butter since I’m allergic to peanuts.  After you make one change you might as well just get creative right?  I thought, “why not add some shallots and quinoa while I’m at it”.  The result was sooooo good!

I enjoyed a piping hot bowl of my new stew creation and of course a salad.

African Cashew Stew

1  sweet potato cubed

1 can chickpeas

1 can fire roasted tomatoes

2 tsp curry powder

3/4 tsp garam masala

1 tsp cumin

1 Tbsp minced ginger

3 cloves minced garlic

1 diced shallot

dash of cinnamon

1 can light coconut milk

2 cups vegetable stock

2 1/2 Tbsp cashew butter

dash of salt

sprinkle of stevia or brown sugar

1/2 cup yellow split peas

1/4 cup quinoa

Combine all ingredients in the crock pot and cook on high for 1 1/2 hrs.  Turn to low for 1-2 hrs till potatoes and peas are cooked.  *Would be tasty garnished with roasted cashews, or greek yogurt

Is your new year off to a good start?

“Another fresh new year is here . . .
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!

This bright new year is given me
To live each day with zest . . .
To daily grow and try to be
My highest and my best!

I have the opportunity
Once more to right some wrongs,
To pray for peace, to plant a tree,
And sing more joyful songs!”

- William Arthur Ward

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Now I want to get out and go skating! My skating is pretty horrendous too. I used to be decent as a kid but I never really figured out how to stop properly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

