The Kitchen (aka my favorite room)

It feels like I’ve been spending a lot of time in my kitchen lately- baking, cooking then cleaning up my messes.  Good thing it’s my favorite room in the house ;-)  Really, it is.  Not just because I love to cook but also because out of all the rooms in my tiny house it’s the biggest and the brightest.  When the husband and I were house hunting we saw a picture of this one online and one look at the kitchen picture made me want to gag!  It looked like an explosion of brightly colored tiles.  Well, I am so thankful that our realtor took us here to see it in person.  It was love at first sight- so cheery and spacious!  Anyways, I had my fair share of kitchen time today making two batches of granola and a big pot of soup.

I made two versions of my Pumpkin Spice Granola.  One I kept pretty simple with pumpkin puree, spices like cardamom, nutmeg and cinnamon and some chopped cashews but the other one I got a little creative.  In with the pumpkin I added some fresh made almond pecan butter and spiced it up with some ginger.

 For dinner I decided to try a recipe for Chickpea Chicken Soup I recently saw on another blog.  I’m a big fan of smokey flavors and this soup has smoked paprika and a little bacon- yum!

I of course also had to add a few generous dashed of Chipotle Smoked Tabasco too ;-)  This turned out really good.  Lots of veggies which I love!  I only used about 15 oz of chickpeas and 32 oz of chicken broth but I bet it would be equally as good if I followed the recipe.  I think next time I’ll try a vegetarian version with half black beans, half chickpeas instead of chicken and sub veggie broth.  Now that I think of it some grilled corn would taste amazing in here too!

I really didn’t need one more thing to clean but I was having a major craving for some fresh juice (and sparkly nails) tonight.

Into the juicer went pineapple, grapes, celery, carrots and a big chunk of ginger.  This hit the spot!  My throat has been a little scratchy and sore today (better not be getting sick!) but this really soothed it and tasted so good!

It seems like everyone I know is getting sick lately and I really don’t want to catch anything!  Maybe my vitamin loaded juice will help fend off any illness ;-) 

What steps do you take to stay healthy during cold and flu season?  If you do come down with something, what’s your go-to remedy?

My husband likes to joke that I say yoga cures anything so I’ll leave you with a pose that could help keep colds and flu away.

Yoga Pose of the Day:  Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

HP_MAR06_Bhujangasana_248.jpg

Chest openers like this pose can active the thymus gland which is the primary organ of the immune system.  It’s also a great heart, chest and shoulder opener.

“My own prescription for health is less paperwork and more running barefoot through the grass.”  ~Terri Guillemets

One response to this post.

  1. Hope you’re not getting sick! I always load up on EmergenC and just drink a TON of water and tea!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

